skip to Main Content

Unitarian Universalist congregations affirm and promote seven principles as strong values and moral guides — not dogma or doctrine:

  1. The inherent worth and dignity of every person
  2. Justice, equity, and compassion in human relations
  3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations
  4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning
  5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large
  6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all
  7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part

We express these principles within a living tradition of wisdom and spirituality drawn from six diverse sources:

  1. Direct experience of the transcending mystery and wonder — affirmed in all cultures — moves us to renew the spirit and to be open to the forces that create and uphold life.
  2. Words and deeds of prophetic women and men challenge us to confront structures of evil with justice, compassion, and the transforming power of love.
  3. Wisdom from the world’s religions inspires us in ethical and spiritual life.
  4. Jewish and Christian teachings call us to respond to God’s love by loving our neighbors as ourselves.
  5. Humanist teachings counsel us to heed the guidance of reason and the results of science, and warn against idolatries of the mind and spirit.
  6. Spiritual teachings of earth-centered traditions celebrate the sacred circle of life and instruct us to live in harmony with the rhythms of nature.

The seven principles and six sources of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA) grew out of the grassroots of our tradition, were affirmed democratically, and are part of who we are. You will find them in the UUA Bylaws.

Back To Top